The Dreaded Food Rut

Maybe it’s the third trimester slump or maybe it’s just a lack of creativity, but I’m in a major food rut. I could scour Pinterest for days, but the thought of spending hours a day cooking 3+ meals is just exhausting.

Luckily, family doesn’t seem to mind (or maybe they haven’t noticed? Wishful thinking)? My toddler could live off fruit, peanut butter toast and any variation of pasta if we let him. My sweet husband comes home from work so hungry that he’ll eat anything I put in front of him.

While Wildman and I can usually eat the same things for any meal or snack, I do have a few hurdles to consider when it comes to food:

  • Wildman barely touches any veggies (unless you count sucking Ranch dressing off of them)
  • I’m still pregnant, so some of my favorite foods are off-limits (lunch meat and sushi mainly)
  • My husband is gluten intolerant

With these things in mind, here’s what I’ve had in our rotation lately….

Breakfast

  1. Oatmeal with agave maple syrup and a bit of brown sugar, sliced strawberries and 4
    IMG_5297
    A typical breakfast in our house

    oz. of plain yogurt with granola

  2. Peanut butter toast or waffles, one clementine and a bowl of yogurt with granola
  3. Scrambled eggs with a bit of cheese mixed in and avocado toast

Lunch

  1. Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, sliced apples and carrots or celery with ranch
  2. Cheese quesadillas with avocado slices and sliced apples or blueberries
  3.  Tuna salad on crackers, string cheese and sliced apples or strawberries
  4. Grilled cheese and tomato soup

Dinners

  1. Thai Turkey Meatballs from Olena at ifoodreal.com – we pair with basmati rice and I add broccoli and water chestnuts for some extra crunch. Bonus- there’s hidden veggies in there that Wildman will eat!
  2. Spicy Shrimp with Pesto Zoodles from Pinch of Yum – we love this one and, again, it’s super quick. The downside is Wildman won’t eat the spicy shrimp. I usually have to make him something else.
  3. Marinated Grilled Chicken from AllRecipes.com – This recipe has me firing up our grill as soon as it’s warm enough to cook outside. HOLY.CRAP. You guys, this is good and so easy. Pairs well with kid-friendly mac’n’cheese and roasted veggies.
  4. Pioneer Woman’s Sloppy Joes – we usually have these ingredients on hand. I sub ground beef for turkey most of the time, to cut our red meat consumption. Wildman and hubby are both big fans.
  5. Carnitas Tacos found on Food.com – Apparently, this was named the 2001 Best Recipe by the San Francisco Chronicle and once you try it, you know why. These are, by far, the best carnitas I’ve ever had. I dream about them. We make them at least once a month, but reserve it for weekends, since it’s time intensive.
  6. Basic sausage and gluten free spaghetti with marinara sauce -we LOVE Boulder Sausage because there are no nitrates or preservatives and it’s TASTY. (Seriously, give it a try, if you haven’t. You won’t be disappointed)!
  7. Our most recent go-tos, I list last – the lovely breakfast-for-dinner option or take out. We love Etais, Chiptole and Yellowbelly.

Now here’s where I need your help! What recipes (entrees or sides, breakfast, lunch or dinner) are your favorites on busy or lazy days?

 

2 thoughts on “The Dreaded Food Rut

Leave a Reply

